Wednesday is….

We crafted. I have no pictures of this because I was elbow deep in flour and salt and didn’t want to shmutz up my camera. Yes, that’s the technical term.

Today we did the first step to making jewelry – make the dough. We used a basic salt/flour/water recipe that Jayne carefully measured and poured and stirred and kneaded and managed to get all. over. the. kitchen.

Tomorrow she’ll make beads out of it (if you’re wondering why we didn’t get to this today… a little thing called The Little Brother got in the way.) We’ll bake ’em, paint ’em, and string ’em into a necklace. I’ll attempt to get pictures of all of that.

In other news, I’m actually knitting something. And I’m practicing knitting monogamy in an attempt to get a tiny sweater to a new baby before it warms up (too late, baby’s in Florida. Grrr.)

I have no pictures of this, either, but Google images (or Immangini, for those of us in Bella Italia) has not failed me this time – you can see 406 examples of what I’m knitting here. Its the Heartbreakingly Cute Baby Kimono from Mason Dixon Knitting and its a pretty quick little project. I’m using Cotton Ease in Bubble Gum Pink (hat on right, duh) and I’m loving it. Considering this baby lives in a warm climate I figured wool was right out, and this is some seriously soft, nice cotton yarn.

Right now it doesn’t look anything like a sweater, but I have faith that after I preform knitwear origami on it it’ll come together. Wish me luck on the seaming – it’ll be a new experience for me.

Tomorrow I’ll post something with pictures. Maybe.

One response to “Wednesday is….

  1. That kimono will be darble- and let me know how the bead thing works out- we may try it here

Leave a Reply

