Disaster!

Well, two disasters, actually. The first being that I’ve ALREADY WRITTEN THIS POST. I hit “publish” and everything. Then I log on this morning to discover that its missing from the blog. Stupid thing isn’t even saved as a draft? The hell, WordPress? You think I have an unlimited amount of free time with which to make these scintillating posts? Jeez.

.

Original disaster –

p1240002b.jpg
.
Can you see the problem?

.

.

These babies were air-drying just fine, but I caved to Little Miss “I wanna paint TONIGHT!” and popped them in the oven for an hour. The poofed. Not a lot, in fact it rounded them out nicely. Instead of looking like Mutant Cheerios they looked like actual beads. Oh, except for one all-important bead characteristic.

.

p1240003b.jpg
.
Dammit.

.

.

.

The holes closed. All of them. The heart still has it’s hole, but all the others are now little dough balls instead of little dough beads.

The original plan (and what I POSTED LAST NIGHT) was for me to stay up redoing them all, so Madam would never know it happened. Yeah. That didn’t happen. Which I’ve now decided is a good thing. The kid has to learn that projects don’t always go according to plan, right? Its not *just* about me not wanting to make a billion beads all by myself. Its about teaching an important lesson on disappointment and dealing with setbacks. Right?

.

Good thing we made extra dough.

Leave a Reply

