Bead update

Things are moving forward again on the Great Beaded Necklace Project of 2008.  Jaynie was less than  thrilled about “doing all the same stuff that we already did AGAIN” (ie – making another batch of beads), so Joe stepped in and fixed the old ones.  With a drill.  No, seriously.

.

.

p1270012b.jpg

He cleared the counter in front of him before he’d let me take a picture, and then I take it from the side so you can see the empty corn flakes box behind him.  Nice.

.

.

 He honest-to-God got out a drill and drilled holes in our salt dough beads.  Only a man would think up this solution.

.

p1270011b.jpg

“I scratched myself a couple of times, but not as many as I thought I might.”

.

.

.

Disaster averted, it was finally time to paint.  Step one, distract Trouble so the big girls can do some serious painting.

 

 

 p1260035b.jpg

We like to nurture those artistic instincts early in this house. 

.

.

.

 Then I went searching for supplies. I found these kid-friendly paints in Jayne’s art supply stash, and rejoiced that I would not have to burn my overpriced “I bought this here in Italy” acrylic paint for a kid project.  So, take these paints –

.

p1260051b.jpg

Out of this color selection, Jayne used two – pink and purple.  Such a girl.

.

.

and this cute (and incredibly serious) artist –

.

p1260049b.jpg

Painting her 32nd purple bead.

.

.

 and you end up with these little beauties –

.

p1260055b.jpg

Not bad if I do say so myself.

.

.

.

Tonight I’m going to give them a quick spray of clear paint to seal them, then tomorrow we (finally, actually, miraculously) make the necklaces.  At first Jayne said we could make necklaces for her, for me, for friends, for Aunty Suz… then while we were painting she said they would all be for her, then when we were done painting she said all the beads SHE had painted that were EXTRA PRETTY would be for her, but the UGLY beads that I had painted could be for other people.

Geesh.  Everyone’s a critic.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

