Terminato!

p2070077b.jpg
 .
Miracles happen!  We’re done!
.
.

.
Who could have anticipated that this would be a two-week process? (Answer: My mother and Joe.)

We made the dough.  We shaped the beads.  We baked the beads.  We drilled the beads. We painted the beads.  We ignored the beads for a week, then clear-coated them.  We finally, eventually, miraculously remembered the poor beads and strung them into stylish necklaces for the under 5 set around here.

Eh – you know all this already.  Let’s get to the pictures –

p2060002b.jpg

That’s a nice looking bowl of beads.

.

.

Got the kids set up with beads and yarn and let them at it.  Jayne had a plastic darning needle, for Jonas I just taped the end of his yarn (Madam was ADAMANT that she NEEDED a NEEDLE like a GROWN UP.  She had *way* more trouble than he did.  The tape was a better choice.)

 

p2060056b.jpg
.
This is serious work.
.
.
.
p2060016b.jpg
.
See?  Serious.
.
.

.
What?  That wasn’t quite enough picture of cute kids stringing beads for you?  No problem.

.

p2060052b.jpg

Originally, I gave him markers and paper.  He kept begging for “Fruit loops and yarn, Mommy!  Fruit loops and yarn… LIKE JAYNIE!” He’s remembering the Fruit Loop garland we made for the Christmas tree (thanks, Tiff!)  Even after he determined these were not fun to eat, he had a blast stringing them.  This kid has “FUTURE CRAFTSTER” written all over him.

.

.

p2060034b.jpg

Time to trim those bangs before she starts running into things.

.

.

In the end we had one stylish Jaynie necklace, and one string  with every single other bead crowded onto it.  I’m leaving that one open so he can pull them off and put them back on at will.  I’m going to call it the “Mommy’s making dinner” project.

On to the fashion show!

p2070085b.jpg

 If I was one of those paranoid smart bloggers that kept their family anonymous, this would be the pic I’d show you.

.

.

p2070089b.jpg

But considering I’ve already posted her butt all over the internet, I’ll show you this one.  How cute is she?

.

.

.

In other crafty news – the gift has still not been gifted, so I still cannot blog it.  The ball of pink yarn still sits on the windowsill staring at me, and the weather has held at long sleeved shirts and light hoodie temps for a couple of weeks now – another winter gone without me knitting myself a hat.  I did do the drawing on Jonas’s window – first step towards faux-stained-glass-goodness –

p2070098b.jpg

I’m looking at this picture, and can’t help but wonder *what* I am doing inside blogging on a day like this.

.

.

 Of course, as soon as I was done w/ all the measuring and fiddling and drawing… I totally changed my mind.  I don’t think these letters are going to make it.  I’m feeling a turtles/fish/frogs/swirls/stars thing coming on.  I’m off to find my windex…

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Terminato!

  1. those are some good looking beads……and taking 2 weeks is a good thing…..lets the kids know not everything is instant gratification

  2. I BLAME THE REMOTE CONTROL!
    =)

  3. If the beads are exposed to heat after they’re hard and all, will they melt? Or will they still remain solid?

Leave a Reply

