We don’t need no stinkin fabric stores!

Remember all those empire-waist-makes-you-look-pregnant tops I blogged about here? In the end I couldn’t bring myself to buy anything for me (well, I got one that buttons up and seems to say “Housekeeping! You need towels?” a lot louder than it says “Baby on Board!”), but I did pick this one up for Jayne –

p9160025b.jpg

Hmmm. Doesn’t seem quite right.

.

.

p9160026b.jpg

Ah, that explains it. (Note to self: put on make up before picking up camera. Also? Clean the mirror. Oye.)

.

.

Start with one severely marked down Juniors shirt and lots of caffeine. Cut, pin, and sew late into the night. End up with one kiddo sundress – just in time for the weather to get coat-worthy again. Eh – we’ll be prepared for spring.

.

p2110001b.jpg

Jeez. Could she *look* more excited?

.

.

p2110003b.jpg

Little better. Some signs of life, at least.

.

.

p2110008b.jpg

I changed the straps to criss cross instead of shortening them (I love the way crossed straps look on girl’s dresses.) The extra skirt fabric just got tucked away in this big “bustle” here. I think its cute. Jayne thinks its cute. We have a winner.

.

.

p2110006b.jpg

Extra fabric got turned into cute fabric cuff. This is how she chose to hold her hands when I said “Hold that hand still so I can get a picture of the bracelet.” Drama.

.

.

In other reconstruction news, I watched the last two Pirates movies this weekend (I :heart: Capitan Jack), and I deconstructed two thrift store shirts while I did it. They’re both really lightweight, thin, soft cotton. I love love love the fabrics –

p2110011b.jpg
.
Hmmm. I kind of like them together.
.
.
p2110012b.jpg
.
Would you look at those dragons! How cool is this fabric?
.
.

.
And now I get to play the “what will I make with this?” game. I am definitely not wasting these dragons on the Twink. She has so many clothes and is so damn picky about what she wears. No way would blue dragons make the cut. Joe says a shirt for Jonas. He seems to think I could wing a button up without a pattern. Let’s all take a minute to laugh.

– done? –

Obviously, it will be something for me. Come on! Look at how cool it is! I must have it. Now, will it be an apron? Bag? Top? So many possibilities, not very much fabric. The dragons was a men’s XL, so I have plenty for one good project, but not enough for multiples. I have to actually make up my mind. Hmph.

.

.

Last but not least – I’ve been painting…

p2110052b.jpg

Told you those ABC’s would never last.

.

.

If that is not the coolest window you’ve ever seen, then…. um… well, it just is. It is definitely the coolest window *I’ve* ever seen. I am so in love with that octopus. It has a star on its head for crying out loud. Love. It.

I’m totally going to run out of paint. No way do I have enough blue for this thing. I’ve already told Jayne that I won’t be able to do her window until we get back from the States w/ more supplies, but I’m not sure I’ll even be able to finish this one. Might end up with some creative color choices because its what I have. Could get interesting.

 

 

7 responses to “We don’t need no stinkin fabric stores!

  1. noticed nice nails on the Twink in her pic of hands/bracelet….tell her grandma is proud of her:)

    that is one kick ass window…but your first one was my kitchen window which has been reincarnated to this house in both the office and front door

    love to you and yours, Mom

  2. The dress! The Twink! That turtle!!!! I like the octopus, too, but this is the second time I’ve noticed the turtle on your blog and I’m in LOVE.

  3. What turtle are we talking about? The Star Turtle? Thank Harry Connick Jr for that. 😉

  4. love them all- I’m so not worthy!

  5. When we buy a house I want a Jenn window mural!

  6. And if you just thought “yeah right, I’m not doing that!” remember all that wallpaper and boarders I scrubbed off?? Ooh yeah, I want a window mural damn it.

  7. I have no problem with that. Just keep in mind that in addition to the cost of the materials there’s the cost of an airplane ticket to consider….

    Ha. 😉

Leave a Reply

