Instant Gratification

The window is slogging along, I haven’t picked up my knitting in months (I have given store-bought baby gifts to 4 babies in the past 5 months. Shameful.), I still have not even started sketches for the Jonas sign for his room, the fabric I bought to make him a quilt is folded up and laying on the floor of my room, and when I went looking for binding for it I discovered the still pinned-together quilt top that I was making for Violet when she was still in the crib.  (So THAT’S where all my pins went!)

It was time for a 30 minute project.  Something I could start and finish while the kids watched Blue’s Clues.  Something to give the crafting mojo a boost.  And, hey – if it solved the “I’m meeting people for lunch in an hour and have nothing to wear” problem, too?  All the better.

I bought this dress because I liked the neckline and the colors.  Also, because I am physically incapable of passing up just about anything in my size that’s marked down to four bucks.

.

Pardon the mess behind me.  Joe is trying this new thing where he doesn’t harass me about my mess.  I think he thinks that his silent disgust will get me to clean it up.  He should talk to my mom – it never worked for her, either.

.

.

Unfortunately it was way, way to short to actually wear as a dress (while I’m thrilled you can’t actually see my undies in this picture, trust me when I tell you things would be different if I was bending down to pick up a squalling two-year-old.) It also looked weird over jeans at this length.  And it had these huge pockets that, while nice in theory, got really wrinkled and bunched up when it was washed, and then made my hips stick out an extra 2 inches on each side (and really, who needs that?)  I considered ironing them for about 3 seconds, then remembered that I have no idea where the iron actually *is*, and just decided they had to go.

.

I thought these pictures were coming out blurry, then I looked at them FULL sized on my GIANT screen and discovered the truth – my mirror is really, really streaky.

.

.

The pockets took me the longest because I’m not that smart.  All I did was chop off a few inches, hem, cut out the pockets, sew them shut – voila!  A tank I will actually wear.  Like 3 times already since Thursday! 🙂  Joe came home, saw the sewing machine  out (What?  You thought sometime between first thing in the morning and dinnertime I would have put it away?  It’s like you didn’t even see that picture of my bedroom floor.), and said “Ooh!  The sewing machine is out!  That’s a good sign!  What did you make?” and I gestured to myself and he looks at me and says “Oh – was that that ugly dress?”  Nice.

.

.

.

I have been painting this window all weekend.  Sewing that top got me back in business…

.

This isn’t exactly what the colors look like.  Next time I take pics I’ll try to do it earlier in the day.

.

.

I’m actually further along at this point. If all goes well tomorrow (RE:  Two little terrorists get over the MommyMommyMommy thing they’ve been going through this weekend) I could be done and moving onto the next one.  Woo hoo!  (It occurs to me that this blog means I’ll know exactly when I start a project and how long it actually takes me to see it through to the end.  Hmm.  Maybe this wasn’t such a good idea after all.)

2 responses to “Instant Gratification

  1. window looks awesome. nice shirt too : )

Leave a Reply

